# DKG Washington State Organization General Session Meeting MINUTES

Saturday, April 27, 2024. 3:15 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Pasco

WELCOME AND OPENING: President Monique Harrison (Beta Sigma Seattle)

- The meeting was called to order at 3:25 p.m.
- Flag Salute and Star Spangled Banner
- Welcome and Introduction of guests.
- Credentials report: Intern Treasurer Mary Rennie (Theta Yakima).
- **Minutes review**: Pia Longinotti and Mindy Hoffman were appointed to review the Minutes from the General Session.
- **Message from International President**: Bev Mantey-VanCronkhite (NW Regional Director)
  - Strategic plan and Avenue M report
  - o 2024 International Convention in National Harbor, MD
  - Amendments to Constitution and Standing Rules
- Parliamentary Minute: Parliamentarian Linda Elliott (Beta Delta Auburn).
- Correspondence: None.

#### NEW BUSINESS/REPORTS:

### **Executive secretary:** Sherri Wagemann (Eta Spokane)

- Four Zoom slots are available, to individuals or teams, under the WSO umbrella account. Cost is \$114.27 including taxes per annum.
- Sasha Tiffany has been appointed to the ad-hoc Technology Committee for 2024-2025.
- Upcoming WSO events:
  - o Leadership Development Retreat, July 23-25, 2024, North Bend WA.
  - o Fall Board, virtual, September 27-29, 2024.
  - o Spring Convention, April 25-27, 2025, Olympia WA.
  - o Creative Arts Retreat (CART s), June 24-26, 2025, Dumas Bay WA.
- 2026 Leadership Development Retreat will be held in-person, with dates and venue TBA.
- The Executive Board approved the appointment of Sherri Wagemann as Executive Secretary for 2025-2029.

# **Treasurer:** Pat Russell (Beta Sigma Seattle)

- The full budget for 2024-2025 is available on-line.
- Total assets are \$152,304.86.
- The required Available Reserve Fund balance has been met.
- The Organization was advised to spend wisely, even with a healthy budget.
- The Treasurer expressed concern over the cost of holding Fall Board 2025 in-person.

#### Finance Chair: Mary Rennie (Theta Yakima)

- The 2022-2023 books have been reviewed.
- Jan Morgan has been appointed as the new Finance Chair.

#### **Nominations:** Marian Palmer (Eta Spokane)

- Barbara Brown has been appointed for a second term as board trustee on the Rachel Royston Permanent Scholarship Foundation.
- There is an open position for a member on the Nominations Committee.

# Membership: Terri Diehm (Beta Delta Auburn)

- Beta Beta SeaTac chapter has been dissolved, effective June 30, 2024.
- The dissolution of Zeta Wenatchee has been postponed. The Membership Committee is speaking to possible new recruits. The motion will be brought before the Executive Board at Spring Convention 2025 in Olympia.

# **Introduction of new personnel:** Monique Harrison (Beta Sigma Seattle)

- The President welcomed the following new appointees:
  - o Terri Diehm, Second Vice President, 2024-2025
  - Mary Rennie, incoming WSO Treasurer, 2024-2028
  - o Barbara Brown, RRPSF, 2024-2029
  - o Melanie Olson, Art & Music Liaison, 2024-2025
  - Kris Hotchkiss, CARTs Retreat Committee Chair, 2024-2025
  - Adriane Hartness, Finance Committee, 2024-2025
  - o Sasha Tiffany, ad-hoc Technology Committee, 2024-2025

#### REPORTS REQUIRING ACTION:

# **Open position on the Nominations Committee**

MOTION: It is moved (Liz Friedrich, second Teri King) that Marcia Perkins (Eta Spokane) be appointed to the Nominations Committee.

# **Bylaws/Standing Rules Amendments:**

17 amendments were presented by Bev Reinvik (Alpha Tacoma):

- 7 consent-agenda items (6 Bylaws and 1 Standing Rule)
- 12 items open to discussion on the floor (4 existing Bylaws, 2 new Bylaws, 2 existing Standing Rules, 2 new Standing Rules.)

### Consent agenda items:

• Bylaws - beginning lines 70, 575, 580, 584, 586, 643 and Standing Rules -beginning line 376.

MOTION: (Bev Reinvik, no second needed) I move that the Consent items be approved.

Motion passed.

#### <u>Items open to discussion on the floor:</u>

Each of the following 10 items was read individually by Bev Reinvik (Alpha Tacoma), with the rationales to each given by Corinne Johnson (Mu Clark County). Each item was then opened for discussion and possible adjustments, after which the assembly voted separately on each item.

- Bylaws beginning line 429
   Vote: amendment passed.
- Bylaws beginning line 478 Vote: amendment passed.
- Bylaws beginning line 665
  - Discussion involved one motion:

MOTION: I move (Pat Bennett-Forman, Teri King) to delete *Management* and replace it with *Development*.

Motion passed.

Vote: amendment passed.

• Bylaws - beginning line 735

- Discussion involved a friendly amendment (Pat Bennett-Forman/Teri King) to change Expenses are to be paid.... to Expenses may be paid....
- o Discussion also involved:

# MOTION: (Sarah McKeever, Teri King) I move to change *They may provide one workshop.....* to *They will provide....*

• Discussion also involved a motion for more time:

# MOTION: I (Teri King, Charlene Shea) to extend the meeting by 30 minutes to 5:35 p.m.

Motion carried.

- Discussion resumed on McKeever/King motion, which carried.
   Vote: amendment passed.
- New addition to Bylaws beginning line 802
   Vote: addition passed.
- New addition to Bylaws beginning or following line 802 Vote: addition passed.
- Standing Rules beginning line 411 Vote: amendment passed.
- Standing Rules beginning line 578 Vote: amendment passed.
- Addition to Standing Rules new section 10.4 Vote: addition passed
- Addition to Standing Rules new section 10.5
  - Discussion included a friendly amendment to remove the first sentence on 10.54.

Vote: addition passed

#### **RECESSION:**

The meeting was recessed to allow the Rachel Royston Permanent Scholarship Foundation to hold their annual meeting.

#### **RECONVENTION:**

# ANNOUNCEMENTS:

- International Report Holden Fund (Janet LeBeau, Theta Yakima)
- International Report Communications & Marketing (Pat Bennett-Forman, Alpha Sigma Kitsap)
- International Report Non-Dues Revenue (Monique Harrison, Beta Sigma Seattle)

ADJOURNMENT:		
The meeting was adjourned at 5:52 p.m		
Claire Smith		
Claire Smith, Secretary	Date	Approved
Monique Harrison, President		